Franklin-Simpson FFA holds banquet at new venue

Student Teacher, Wesley Estes (left), presenting the freshman Outstanding Leadership award to Marissa Jones at the Future Farmers of America Banquet.

The annual Franklin-Simpson FFA banquet had a change of venue this year with the event relocating from Franklin-Simpson High School to Chuck and Michelle Fleming's Event Barn. Thirty members within the chapter were given the chance to be recognized for the wonderful achievements throughout the year at the banquet with trophies, plaques and gifts.

Awards were given to students in the multiple Agricultural pathways taught by Mr. Evans and Mrs. Dalton, including Agriculture Construction and Power, Animal Science, Horticulture and Greenhouse Management. Evans awarded FSHS senior Logan Ford the award in Agriculture Construction and Power. Heydi Gaitan won the same award in Animal Science. Dalton awarded Jenna Robertson the Horticulture award and Jenna and Emma Jones both received the Greenhouse award.

FFA offers more than agriculture, we also reward students for their tremendous leadership both inside and outside the classroom. Marissa Jones received the award for Outstanding Leadership as a Freshman. In addition to these awards, the Franklin-Simpson FFA chapter also recognized Star students in Greenhand and Placement, Kaylee Shaw received the award for Star Greenhand, out of all of Franklin-Simpson's Greenhand members Kaylee Shaw was chosen for this award for her hard work, amazing SAE, and leadership skills. Emma Jones received the Chapter Star in Placement for her work on her family's cattle farm.

After the awards ceremony the 2018-19 Executive Team consisting of Student Dev. Com. Chair - Jake Jernigan, Community Dev. Com. Sec. - Luke Adams, Growing Leaders. Com. Chair- Georgia Perry, Growing Leaders. Com. Sec.- Ashlen Stinsion Strengthening Ag. Com. Chair- Heydi Gaitan, Sentinel - Jared Ellis, Reporter- Hallie Lindsey, Treasurer- Jackson Carter, Secretary-Dalton Perry, Vice president- Emma Jones, and President- Jenna Robertson, passed down the torch for members, both new and old to dawn the duty of leaders of the chapter.

"It is understandable that I am sad to be passing down my office and hanging up my blue jacket, but there are so many good things that are coming from it," retiring President Jenna Robertson said. "My years in the FFA have shaped me into being the person I am today, and I am ready to use that as I progress toward premier leadership, personal growth, and career success. I am so excited for what this chapter has coming, and I know they will do amazing things."

Franklin-Simpson is proud to present the 2019-20 FFA Executive Team: President - Jackson Carter, Vice President - Hallie Lindsey, Secretary - Georgia Perry, Treasurer - Jared Ellis, Reporter - Kaylee Shaw, Sentinel - Luke Adams, Growing Leaders. Com. Chair - Ashlyn Stinson, Growing Leaders. Com. Sec. - Heydi Gaitin, Growing Leaders. Com. Sec. - Chase Wilson, Strengthening Ag. Com. Chair - Marissa Jones, Strengthening Ag. Com. Sec. - Elsa Humphrey, Strengthening Ag. Com. Sec. - Padon Vaughn, Community Dev. Comm. Chair - Bryson Stephens, Community Dev. Comm. Sec - Chad Bush, Community Dev. Comm. Sec - Taylor Harvey, Public Relations Comm. Chair - Jake Jernigan, Public Relations Comm. Sec. - Sierra Escue, and Public Relations Comm. Sec. - Alyssa Spears.

"I have always dreamed of being FFA president, and now that my dream has come true it's a little hard to take in," incoming president Jackson Carter said. "Although I am ecstatic and ready for whatever this next year has to throw at me."

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.