The Franklin-Simpson Wildcats’ football team held their season ending banquet Sunday afternoon at the high school cafeteria where individuals and players were recognized with awards.

Awards given were:

Ghost in Blue

Eli Hurt, Colton Hurt, Chris Holman, Nick Groves, Chris Davis, Anthony McKinney, Nate Downey and Grant Harvey

Outstanding Special Teams Player

Cole Hollingsworth

Mike Laney Coaches Awards

Riley Brownlee, Brandon Fisher and Malik Carter

Prep Team Player of the Year

Jayden Wells and Harley Alford

Steve Thurman Teamwork Award

Justin Todd

Mooneyhan Iron Man Award

Leandre Stutzman

Tim Schlosser Sportsmanship Award

Luke Richardson

Stan Portman Second Effort Award

Dalton Hunter and Cooper Gregory

Preston Anderson Academic Award

Quinn Kelly

Outstanding Offensive Underclassman

Omar Harrison

Outstanding offensive Lineman

Dalton Hunter and A.J. Burr

Most Improved Offensive Player

Kyrus Burr

Offensive Players of the Year

Leandre Stutzman and Tedric Partinger

Outstanding Defensive Underclassman

Atakis Allen

Outstanding Defensive Lineman

A.J. Burr

Defensive Players of the Year

Connor Rogers and Tedric Partinger

Big Hit Hammer Award

Tedric Partinger and Chase Gooch


Andrew Ogles

Harvey Unsung Hero Award

Jakota Warfield and Gavin Finch

Frank Cardwell Captains Awards

Connor Rogers, Cooper Gregory and A.J. Burr

The Wildcats won the Class 4-A Region 1 District 2 championship and played in the Region 1 championship game against Madisonville-North Hopkins Maroons for the second year in a row. Their season ended at Madisonville-North Hopkins, who had 21 seniors in 22 positions on the football field.

Franklin-Simpson honored their 12 seniors: A.J. Burr, Christian Dixon, Brandon Fisher, Chase Gooch, Cooper Gregory, Dalton Hunter, Quinn Kelly, Tedric Partinger, Connor Rogers, Leandre Stutzman, Hunter Sutton and Justin Todd. Of these seniors, six were playing as freshmen with three that played all four years. They were all part of winning 48 games of 58 games played with two state championships and a state runner-up championship in their four-year span.

The 2020 football season will begin on Friday, Aug. 21 with a road game at the Greenwood Gators. The first home game of the season will be on Friday, Sept. 4 against the South Warren Spartans.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.