Chatman photo

Wildcats’ senior Demarco Chatman was selected by the coaches to the 3rd Team All-4th Region Season Team. He averaged 11.9 points and a team high of 6.1 rebounds per game as the Wildcats finish the season as 13th District tournament runner-ups with an overall record of 14-16.

Franklin-Simpson Wildcats’ senior Demarco Chatman was selected to the Kentucky Athletic Basketball Coaches Association 3rd Team All-4th Region Team.

The selections to the All-4th Region Team were made by the 17 coaches in the 4th Region with coaches not voting for their own players.

Chatman along with the other 14 players selected were recognized in between games in last Monday night’s semifinal round of the 4th Region Boys Basketball Tournament at E.A. Diddle Arena on the campus of Western Kentucky University.

“I worked hard for this. Felt like I could have been on the 2nd Team but it is what it is,” Chatman said. “Feels good that the coaches in the region see that I can play a little bit and be able to choose me. It is a blessing.”

“He is definitely an All-Region player and everyone did as well. Some injuries set him back early in the season but he bounced back,” Wildcats head coach Dee Spencer said. “The coaches respect him and what he can do. They understood what he meant to our team so he did a good job and we’re proud of him.”

Chatman played in 28 games this season averaging 11.2 points per game, shooting 45.8% from the floor as he made 131 of his 286 shots he attempted including making eight of his 42 attempts from the 3-point line. He shot 61.4% from the free throw line, making 62 of his 101 attempts. Defensively, he led the team in rebounds with 172, averaging 6.1 per game.

1st Team:

Dre Boyd (Warren Central)

Aden Nyeken (Barren County)

Isaiah Mason (Bowling Green)

Nik Sorrell (Glasgow)

Anthony Woodard (Logan County)

Der Boyd (Warren Central)

Boys’ 2nd Team:

Jaden Franklin (Glasgow)

Ben Carroll (Greenwood)

Cade Stinnett (Greenwood)

Jose Nazario (Logan County)

Boston Devore (Metcalfe County)

3rd Team:

Mason Shirley (Allen County-Scottsville)

Turner Buttry (Bowling Green)

Demarco Chatman (Franklin-Simpson)

Noah Stansbury (Greenwood)

Kobe Brents (Warren Central)

Player of Year: Dre Boyd (Warren Central)

Coach of Year: Warren Cunningham (Barren County)

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.